ANC names new NEC Sub-Committee heads

The African National Congress (ANC) has introduced heads of its new National Executive Committee (NEC) Sub-Committees on Sunday. 
The ANC appointed these Sub-Committee heads at its special NEC meeting held at the St George’s Hotel last Sunday, 25 February 2018. 
“The President of the ANC, Comrade Cyril Ramaphosa, delivered political remarks to the meeting, which strongly emphasised the need for ANC leaders and members to honour the deployments entrusted to them by the organization and the need for consequence management where comrades fail to do so,” said the ANC in a statement read by Secretary General, Comrade Ace Magashule, shortly after the end of the meeting on Sunday evening. 
The statement said the special meeting was called to conclude the deployment of members of the NEC into Sub-Committees and to provinces. This task was finalized and the ANC deployed the following comrades as Chairperson or Convenors of the teams: 

  • Deployment Committee:  David Mabuza (Chairperson)
  • Jessie Duarte (Coordinator)
  • Drafting Committee:  Barbara Creecy 
  • Constitutional and Legal Affairs: Zweli Mkhize
  • Information & Publicity: Nkenke Kekana
  • Education, Health, Science & Technology: Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma
  • Economic Transformation: Enoch Godongwana
  • International Relations: Lindiwe Zulu
  • National Disciplinary Committee: Edna Molewa
  • Organising & Campaigns: Senzo Mchunu (Chairperson) and Dakota Legoete (Chairperson)
  •  National Elections Committee: Fikile Mbalula
  • Political Education: Nathi Mthethwa (Chairperson) David Masondo (Deputy Chairperson)
  • Peace & Stability: Tony Yengeni
  • Social Transformation: Lindiwe Sisulu
  • Archives Committee: Baleka Mbete
  • Policy Monitoring & Evaluation: Jeff Radebe
  • National Disciplinary Committee of Appeal: Nomvula Mokonyane
  • Cultural & Religious Affairs: Mathole Motshekga
  • Legislature & Governance: Phumulo Masualle
  • National Dispute Resolution Committee: Jessie Duarte
  • Gender & Equity: Thandi Modise
  • Political Committee: Baleka Mbete

The ANC also appointed convenors of deployees to provinces and they are led by the following comrades:

  • Eastern Cape: Hlengiwe Mkhize
  • Free State: Siyabonga Cwele
  • Gauteng: Joe Maswanganyi
  • KwaZulu-Natal: Nocawe Mafu
  • Limpopo: Thoko Didiza
  • Mpumalanga: Gwen Ramakgopa 
  • Northern Cape: Collen Maine 
  • North West: Obed Bapela
  • Western Cape: Bheki Cele 

The ANC would make a list of the full composition of Sub-Committees and provincial deployments available to the public as soon as possible. 
At the same meeting, the NEC took a resolution to deploy the following comrades on a full-time basis at the organisation’s headquarters, Chief Albert Luthuli House:

  • Senzo Mchunu: Head of Organising and Campaigns
  • Dakota Legoete: Head of Organising and Campaigns
  • Pule Mabe: National Spokesperson
  • Zizi Kodwa: Head of the Presidency 

President Ramaphosa’s political remarks further reflected on the budget delivered by Minister of Finance, Comrade Malusi Gigaba, in Parliament last week, specifically taking note of the constrained fiscal space South Africa finds itself in and the need for difficult decisions, including the proposed increase on Value Added Tax (VAT) to support government meet pressing social challenges. 
“It was the view of the NEC that government must consider a further range of measures to alleviate any negative consequences on the poor that may be occasioned by the VAT increase, including additions to the list of zero rated and tax exempted items. The NEC committed to continue engagement with all social partners on this and other matters arising from the State of the Nation Address and the Budget,” the NEC said in a statement. 
The highest decision-making body between conferences, the NEC also took note of the BRICS [Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa] Summit to be hosted by South Africa in July this year and directed government to conclude preparations in respect of this important gathering. 
The NEC has confirmed the constitutional amendments and the resolutions of the 54th National Conference held last December and these will now be publicly released.
“The NEC also considered and adopted a roadmap towards the 2019 General Elections. A workshop will be held to further reflect on the ANC’s state of readiness towards these elections.
“The NEC re-emphasised that all regions and provinces that are due to hold conferences have got until 31 May 2018 to do so,” said the NEC.