ANC welcomes new Cabinet

The African National Congress (ANC) has expressed confidence that newly-appointed Cabinet ministers would serve the country well.  
South Africa’s President, Cyril Ramaphosa, reshuffled Cabinet on Monday night, moving some to different portfolios, relieving some of their jobs while bringing in more new faces. He also appointed some new Deputy Ministers. A highlight of his announcement though, was that the country would finally have a Deputy President in David Mabuza, who will now deputise Ramaphosa in both the ANC and the country’s Presidency. 

The ANC - through its spokesperson, Pule Mabe - thanked all the ministers who served in the previous cabinet. 
“We extend our gratitude to all comrades who served in the immediate past Cabinet and as an organisation we are confident that they and their skills are not lost to the ANC. As disciplined members of the organization, we are confident they will continue to serve the movement and the people of South Africa in whatever capacity they are deployed,” Mabe said. 

The party said President Ramaphosa followed the correct party channels to go about his decision to reshuffle.
“As the ANC, we particularly commend the President for having exercised this prerogative in consultation with the National Officials of the ANC and our Alliance Partners. Undoubtedly, this act of giving due regard to the resolutions of the African National Congress, in the exercise of the prerogative bestowed upon the President, lays a strong foundation for greater alignment and cooperation between the ANC and its cadres deployed in government,” said the ANC in a statement.

The list of new ministers is as follows:

  • Communications: Ms Nomvula Mokonyane
  • Energy: Mr Jeff Radebe
  • Higher Education and Training: Ms Naledi Pandor
  • Home Affairs: Mr Malusi Gigaba
  • Human Settlements: Ms Nomaindia Mfeketo
  • International Relations and Cooperation: Ms Lindiwe Sisulu
  • Mineral Resources: Mr Gwede Mantashe
  • Police: Mr Bheki Cele
  • Public Enterprises: Mr Pravin Gordhan
  • Public Service and Administration: Ms Ayanda Dlodlo
  • Public Works: Mr Thulas Nxesi
  • Rural Development and Land Reform: Ms Maite Nkoana-Mashabane
  • Science and Technology: Ms Nkhensani Kubayi-Ngubane
  • Social Development: Ms Susan Shabangu
  • Sport and Recreation: Ms Tokozile Xasa
  • State Security: Ms Dipuo Letsatsi-Duba
  • The Presidency: Planning, Monitoring and Evaluation Dr Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma
  • The Presidency: Women: Ms Bathabile Dlamini
  • Tourism: Mr Derek Hanekom
  • Transport: Dr Blade Nzimande
  • Water and Sanitation: Mr Gugile Nkwinti

“The ANC congratulates Deputy President-elect Comrade David Mabuza as well as all comrades appointed and intended to be appointed Ministers and Deputy Ministers. We assure them of the organisation’s support in the execution of their duties,” said Mabe.